International CHANGE PAIN® Advisory Board –
Acute Pain Chapter

The acute chapter of the international CHANGE PAIN Advisory Board was launched in March 2015 in Amsterdam. Comprised of anaesthetists, surgeons, nurses and patients, it aims to raise awareness on the needs in post-operative pain management and to find solutions to address these needs. At the first meeting of the acute chapter of the Change Pain Advisory Board, key priorities for improving post-operative pain management were identified in four different areas and published. These are:


  • more patient involvement in treatment decisions
  • better professional education of the multidisciplinary pain management team
  • optimizing treatment
  • organizational changes, like introducing acute pain services


The CHANGE PAIN acute chapter is supported by the following experts:

Prof Jose de Andrès
General University Hospital Valencia, Spain

Prof Dan Benhamou
Hôpitaux Universitaires Paris-Sud (AP-HP),
Hôpital de Bicêtre, France

Neil Betteridge
Neil Betteridge Associates, UK

Dr Flaminia Coluzzi
SAPIENZA University of Rome, Italy
Dept. Medical and Surgical Sciences and Biotechnologies
Unit of Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine

Dr William J. Fawcett
Royal Surrey County Hospital, UK

Prof Dominique Fletcher
Hôpital Raymond Poincaré, Garches, France

Prof Frank Huygen
University Hospital Rotterdam, Netherlands

Prof Eija Kalso
Helsinki University Central Hospital, Finland

Prof Henrik Kehlet, MD PHD
Rigshospitalet Copenhagen University, Denmark

Prof Winfried Meißner
Universitätsklinikum der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany

Prof Dr Bart Morlion
University Hospitals Leuven, Belgium

Univ-Prof Edmund A.M. Neugebauer
Witten/Herdecke University, Germany

Dr Antonio Montes Pérez
Hospitalez Mar-Esperanza, Barcelona, Spain

Adjunct Assistant Prof Joseph Pergolizzi
John Hopkins University School of Medicine
Naples Anesthesia and Pain Associates, Naples/Florida, USA

Prof Jürgen Osterbrink
Paracelsus Medical University, Salzburg, Austria

Ass Prof Per Kjaersgaard-Andersen
Vejle Hospital, South Danish University, Vejle, Denmark

Prof Michael Schäfer
Charité Berlin, Germany